french new wave, independents, next?

Started by SmellyBoobFungus, February 08, 2004, 05:25:19 PM

SmellyBoobFungus

our culture is rapidly changing.  we're getting more and more music video/commercial directors making transition into film (spike jonze, michel gondry, fincher, a possible cunningham).  how is this going to affect the industry? also, about 5 to 10 years from now, we're gonna have directors, like myself, influenced by video games with incredibly short attention spans.  wtf are these people, like myself again, going to do with the industry?
Guy with spoon: My spoon is too big. My spoon is too big. My spoon is too big.
Banana: I am a banana!

Rejected

SmellyBoobFungus

oh, and hi,, i'm new to teh forum.  you guys look like an interesting group.

-cheers-

Rejected

Pubrick

Quote from: SmellyBoobFungusour culture is rapidly changing.  we're getting more and more music video/commercial directors making transition into film (spike jonze, michel gondry, fincher, a possible cunningham).  how is this going to affect the industry? also, about 5 to 10 years from now, we're gonna have directors, like myself, influenced by video games with incredibly short attention spans.  wtf are these people, like myself again, going to do with the industry?
judging from the pioneers of today, at worst there'll be an increase of McGs. which is not necessarily a bad thing.

the most excellent thing about this new "mtv" generation of directors is that they didn't do these predictably video-ish things u said. in fact the few who did retain their video sensibilities to the point of nausea (Jonas Akerlund, Hype Williams) totally flopped, they should hav known better. the ones who restrained themselves, treating film as a new medium to revolutionize, were successful, and hav made the most interesting and innovative films of the last 6 years (Spike Jonze,  Mark Romanek, Michel Gondry, Jonathan Glazer).