non-digital camcorder editing

Started by El Duderino, March 24, 2004, 10:03:54 PM

El Duderino

how do i edit my movie if it's shot on a regular camcorder? i'm new to this, so anything would help.
Did I just get cock-blocked by Bob Saget?

Ghostboy

By regular I assume you mean VHS or possibly hi8? In that case, you have two options:

1. Buy a video capture card with RCA inputs and edit on your computer.

2. Cut you short with the classic camera-to-VCR pause-record-pause method, by which every great editor has honed their craft.

El Duderino

Link

Quote from: Ghostboy
2. Cut you short with the classic camera-to-VCR pause-record-pause method, by which every great editor has honed their craft.

Ahh, the good ol' days.  I thought I was so cool and advanced (no one else in my high school even EDITED their movies at all.  Maybe that's why)

El Duderino

will someone give me a step by step way of doing this? (by "this" i mean VCR/Camcorder editing)

ono

Well, I've never done it before, but simple understanding of audio and video input and output -- as well as reading the right books -- has given me an understanding of how it works.

* Put your footage in the camcorder, cue it up.
* Connect the camcorder's audio and video outs to a VCR's audio and video ins.
* Connect the VCR to a television, so you can see what you're doing.  VCR's audio/video outs go to a TV's audio/video ins.
* Put a blank tape in the VCR and record about 20 seconds of black (before the opening of the film only, of course).
* Find the first shot on the camcorder you want to put into your film.  Press record on your VCR, then pause.  You're going to use the pause button from this point on to write each new shot to tape.