Consider this script beginning.....a fairly quick read

Started by chainsmoking insomniac, August 20, 2003, 10:23:23 AM

chainsmoking insomniac

This is my first attempt at writing a script.  It's not spec (as you'll see) and I don't take it very seriously...it's just something I thought would be fun to write and maybe shoot at some point. Please exeuse the Tarantino-ish/PTA feel to it...but hell, you've gotta start somewhere, right?
Thanks in advance for any input or suggestions or outright expressions of revulsion  :)

EXT. MOTEL-NIGHT

FADE IN:

MOTEL SIGN. Film cuts to front view of a car sitting in a parking lot with two men inside: VINCE, driver, mid 20s, and GATOR, early 50s, passenger.  They sit in silence as camera pushes in on them.  Film cuts to motel door, then CU on door #, then back to Vince and Gator.

VINCE: I wanna go in Gator.  Gimmee your gun.

GATOR: What?  You're not ready.

VINCE: I think I'm ready.  I really do, I think I'm ready to do this.

GATOR: No, you're not.  You can't "think" you're ready.  You have to "know" and "be" ready.  Besides, no one's ever quite ready.

VINCE: Could you sound any more vague, you asshole?  I'm sick of driving.  Just gimmee a chance.

GATOR: No-can-do pal.  Not unless Vic authorizes it.

VINCE: Fuck Vic.  He doesn't know what I can do.

He lights a cigarette.

GATOR: Put that out.

VINCE: What's your problem?  You smoke.

GATOR: The smell gets into the upholstery.  You know how Vic is about his cars--

VINCE: Oh Christ, would you shut up about Vic.  'Vic doesn't like this, Vic doesn't like that.'  I don't care!

GATOR: (suddenly angry)  Now you listen kid, you've gotta start showing some respect.  He took you in, he's giving you a chance to better yourself, and you don't even have the courtesy to not smoke in one of his cars!

VINCE ignores him.  He blows a huge plume of smoke out.

GATOR: (disgusted) I'm getting a fucking soda.