the character is the building

Started by cron, November 03, 2007, 07:25:17 PM

what movies do  you know that incorporate a certain building in the story so well that it becomes a character? not a city , a building.
by character i mean that the story could not exist without it.

could you do like a lazy ass quick list? i intend to do some research.
i study architecture , i like movies, and two years and a half from now i'm gonna be graduated. it's a trite thing to say, but the more i learn about both, the more i realize i know shit. ever since i started studying i've tried to relate  those two, but it's extremely difficult. it's also very risky, cos, since there's no strong reason to apply movie knowledge to a building, the most likely result is something scenographic, not architectural.

the only stuff i can think of is kubrick, especially the shining and 2001. probably the last life in the universe and alien also, but those are mostly claustrophial movies. right now, i'm more interested in stuff that's deliberately challenging perceptions of closed and open spaces. like houses in the middle of a forest , or libraries museums,  capitols, palaces, schools, and so on.
it's a very complex issue for me , and kind of a personal failure , not being able to relate those two.
if you know any good bibliography or have an interview with someone or whatever, please let me know.

context, context, context.

squints

Days of Heaven or Tideland....

and

Andrew Wyeth
HERE

or

Edward Hopper
HERE

is there a connection there?
I don't think either of those movies could work without that house and in the case of Tideland the railroad. That gothic-looking house (mind you, i have absolutely zero knowledge about architecture) is more of a character within the whole of American consciousness than just a prop.
i dunno if this helps but its what i thought of when i read the post.