Recommendations for education in this field? (long)

Started by ProgWRX, March 21, 2003, 09:02:08 AM

ProgWRX

Hello there, I'm not sure if this is on the right forum, so any moderators feel free to move this post where you think it might fit better.  :)

Im a 23 year old film & TV enthusiast. Ever since I can remember, I've loved movies, I would watch those HBO behind the scenes specials and when DVD came about, I would be thrilled to check out every bit of the special features, just to inmerse myself into every detail of the film-making process I could get my hands on. Fast forward to my high school years, I always dismissed studying film/TV production as only a "dream" job, and not practical at all. So I kind of stopped pursuing this, although I kept watching movies and learning. When I graduated, I went to a local college that had the best rep for Communications, but my major(sp?) was going to be Advertising, because at the time it was more "practical".

After a dissapointing turn in school, I left and started working full time doing something completely different (Internet & IT). During those years, my love of movies kept growing and growing (I dont use the term film that much, because my interests werent all that much deeper than a typical  above average hollywood film). This kept on, I kept watching the Director's commentaries on my favorite movies, thinking of how this is basically a priviledge we have, its like having your favorite director give you a personal lecture about X or Y movie!  8)  And it also made me think of how badly I wanted to be part of the process, any part of the process!  And I decided that I wanted to be a part of that, screw being practical!

I realize that the chances of me becoming big in the industry are very slim to none. (my main interests are between directing or DP, as I do photography on the side as a hobby) but I just want to work to be a part of that process.