Some classic directors

Started by Chest Rockwell, December 28, 2003, 07:25:07 PM

Chest Rockwell

I'm thinking of starting watching some of the old school directors I see sometimes mentioned on Xixax. This includes Fellini, Godard, Bergman, Kurosawa, Hitchcock, Truffaut, Clouzot, Cocteau, Melville, etc. Does anyone have any suggestions on movies by them or other directors that I should start with? Any suggestions will help.

Oh, and has anyone seen Kalatozishvili's I am Cuba or Riefenstahl's Triumph des Willens (Triumph of the Will)? I'm interested in seeing them for some of the camerawork and all that and would like to know if they're worth watching.

Alethia

some good american ones (not necessarily in ethnicity, but hollywood based) - capra, ford, curtiz, fleming, robert wise, john huston, howard hawks......

Ernie

Here's some of my favorites, I'm not an expert on any of them by any means, I still have a lot to see (never even seen any Kurosawa!)....see, I am getting into 6 different decades at once while still trying to keep up withall the good contemporary stuff so I'm a little overwhelmed....but here's what I can give you for now, glad you have interest.....

WELLES -- Citizen Kane, Touch of Evil, The Trial (might be my favorite Welles film)

GODARD -- Breathless, Band of Outsiders, My Life To Live, Contempt, Pierrot le Fou

TRUFFAUT -- The 400 Blows, Jules and Jim, Shoot the Piano Player, Small Change, Day for Night

MELVILLE -- Bob le Flambeur

HAWKS -- Rio Bravo, The Big Sleep, His Girl Friday, Red River, Bringing Up Baby, Only Angels Have Wings

LEONE -- Once Upon a Time in the West, The Good The Bad & The Ugly, For A Few Dollars More, A Fistful of Dollars

FORD -- The Searchers, The Quiet Man, The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance, My Darling Clementine, Stagecoach

HUSTON -- The Treasure of the Sierra Madre, The Maltese Falcon

PREMINGER -- The Man with the Golden Arm, Anatomy of a Murder, Carmen Jones, Laura