How do you hear

Started by Gamblour., June 09, 2005, 10:54:29 PM

Gamblour.

My friend and I, while listening to Kings of Leon, Ted Leo, or The Decemberists, have noticed that we naturally hear very different things in music. I've been a musician for about 8 years, so I basically focus on each instrument, like I'll listen to the drums, move onto bass, then guitar, or whatever's available. If I've heard those a million times, I'll listen to the lyrics. She, on the other hand, primarily listens to the lyrics with no real regard to the instruments.

You could say she feels it out, while I listen for the technical stuff first, of course, I let go and just hear the song. I try to feel what the music's doing. If I really care, I'll go look up the lyrics.

Are there some of you who focus mainly on the lyrics and their meanings? Case in point, in the Sufjan Stevens thread, BigIdeas asked what the last verse meant. To be honest, I hadn't listened to word of that song, except near the beginning. I was listening to the music.
WWPTAD?

Stefen

It's actually very rare that I ever listen to the lyrics. I listen to the instruments always. It's the reason I have such a hard time getting into singer/songwriters. Songwriting to me is overrated, while playing an instrument well is underrated. Any chump can write a song, not very many people can make beautiful music.
Falling in love is the greatest joy in life. Followed closely by sneaking into a gated community late at night and firing a gun into the air.

Ghostboy

I don't often hear lyrics literally, but it's that I'm not listening for them, and it's not necessarily out of preference for instrumentation or lyricism or vocals - it all blends together as, simply, music. Sometimes I'll be listening to a song I've heard a million times before and think I know like the back of my hand - and suddenly I'll hear the words being sung for the first time and it will be rather shocking and wondrous in a strange way.

ᾦɐļᵲʊʂ