Rick and Morty

Started by ono, December 02, 2013, 12:11:52 AM

ono

From Dan Harmon, the creator of Community.  First episode:

http://youtu.be/tMq3ozw7VME

Premieres tonight, Monday, December 2nd at 10:30 PM, on Adult Swim.

Here's a review from IGN.

N

This show is pretty funny, I've seen the first three episodes so far.
From what I can tell Rick and Morty are based on the character's Doc and Marty from Back to the Future.

The animation style reminds me of something you'd see on cartoon network but doesn't seem fall into the adobe flash look that so many other current animations do (thick outlines, over saturation, obvious motion tween, etc), I'm not an expert.

The voice actors are pretty recognizable, notably Justin Roiland and Chris Parnell.

There are quite a few movie references in the episodes I've seen so far, eg: Magnolia, Inception, Nightmare on Elm St (I'm sure there's more but I'd need to watch it again to pick them up).

AntiDumbFrogQuestion

If anything, I'm watching the show for it's personality. Something about Roiland's rambling makes it unique. Not to say I exactly love the show yet, although I certainly like it, I'm just wanting it to earn it's place in my heart and not just be something people enjoy because Harmon's name is attached to it.

polkablues

First impressions: like a lot of the gags, like the dynamic between the main characters, HATE Roiland's voice work, love all the visual nods to old Mad-era comics (Bill Elder in particular). So far it's worthwhile but not indispensable.
My house, my rules, my coffee

best animated show as of recent.
this shit is intense comedy with surprisingly serious undertones, i would even venture to call it futurama jr as well.

ono

Spoilers.  Go watch this show already!