Paths of Glory

Started by Keener, April 27, 2003, 04:18:17 PM

Keener

Great film. Excellent dialouge and is surviving the testimate of time. I bought a copy (VHS, I'm afraid) for $2.99 still in the wrapper at my video store a few weeks ago. Yay for me, I guess.
Alabama Film Forum
Uniting film lovers and filmmakers of Alabama

Teddy

Never seen it.  I never hear much discussion over it.
"I saved Latin.  What did you ever do?"

Gold Trumpet

Of Kubrick's early works in realism, this is by far his greatest. An emotional triumph that does not bring revolution in the story, but the feeling of what, to a lot of people, the first world war felt like. Whenever I am studying World War I in school and learning more about it, this movie feels even more truthful. Winston Churchill has even said that this film was the most realistic film on WWI in dealing with the feeling the troops felt. It's weird to how different this film feels like from his other works later on, but still carries a crown of masterpiece as any of his others. The simple story with the main points punctuated up is the best though for the purpose of this film which exists in finding the power and emotional strain in portraying these soldiers.

~rougerum

Teddy

:-D Sounds good.  I'll definately have to see it.

Keener

Quote from: TeddyNever seen it.  I never hear much discussion over it.
Exactly ! That's why I made the topic. It's such a great film and yet it's not his most known.