Tip for the kids

Started by Weak2ndAct, October 26, 2003, 05:53:10 PM

Weak2ndAct

Unsolicited advice: though it might seem like a waste of money at the present, I highly urge you all to REGISTER YOUR SCRIPTS.  Do it via the WGA or the Copyright Office.  

As a newb writer, I used to do this w/ everything I had written, but then recently stopped (being the cheap bastard I am).  Sometime down the road, I'm going to be faced w/ a nasty arbitration battle for credit, and if I didn't have proof of my 1st draft, it would all be a moot point.

TheVoiceOfNick

Quote from: Weak2ndActUnsolicited advice: though it might seem like a waste of money at the present, I highly urge you all to REGISTER YOUR SCRIPTS.  Do it via the WGA or the Copyright Office.  

As a newb writer, I used to do this w/ everything I had written, but then recently stopped (being the cheap bastard I am).  Sometime down the road, I'm going to be faced w/ a nasty arbitration battle for credit, and if I didn't have proof of my 1st draft, it would all be a moot point.

Here's a tip... work on multiple projects, and don't show anyone but your closest friends/collaborators... then when you're happy with the drafts you have, and you've collected a few of them, copyright them and go to the WGA to register them... all at once... you can copyright "collections", and this makes things a lot easier and cheaper in the long run.  just remember, you can't copyright names, and you can't copyright "ideas"... an idea is way to broad... write your story and protect your ass...

Recce

simpler and way cheaper: Mail a draft of your script to yourself. If ever something comes up where someone ripped it off, you have the date stamped by the post office. Obviously, don't open the envelop when you get it. Keep it sealed.
"The idea had been growing in my brain for some time: TRUE force. All the king's men
                        cannot put it back together again." (Travis Bickle, "Taxi Driver")

Ghostboy

Even better -- do both.