Locations...

Started by metroshane, March 10, 2004, 08:54:28 AM

metroshane

What's your technique on aquiring location usage?  It seems everyone out there is trying to take as much as they can from you.

There is an abandoned gas station I'd like to shoot at for a day and owner is trying to rob me blind.  I mean, it's not making any money right now...just sitting there.
We live in an age that reads too much to be intelligent and thinks too much to be beautiful.

Ghostboy

I've always just kept looking until I find some place that would let me shoot for free...luckily, my films have been pretty limited to houses/offices/etc. , which you can always find plenty of. I suppose shooting guerilla style at the gas station is out of the question?

I've found that if I say I'm a student filmmaker, keyword being student, people are a lot more open, and they automatically assume no money is involved.

metroshane

Good point about the "student angle".  It's just when I start my proposal, I see dollar signs in there eyes.
We live in an age that reads too much to be intelligent and thinks too much to be beautiful.

SoNowThen

I always try to use student, but I'm generally incapable of "lying", so when I try to emphasize the student bit, I start blushing and mumbling, and people know the fix is in. I usually get screwed out of locations.

My friend, on the other hand, doesn't give a shit. Walks in to car dealerships and swings a deal to 'have' a bmw for an hour for us to shoot driving around. Goes into a hotel, says we need it to film in, they say "yes", he says we'll probably be discharging blanks as part of an action scene, they say "that's okay". It consistently amazes me.