XIXAX Film Forum

Creative Corner => Filmmakers' Workshop => Topic started by: jasper_window on April 16, 2004, 02:30:58 PM

Title: dell & avid express dv?
Post by: jasper_window on April 16, 2004, 02:30:58 PM
Apologies for the extremely random question, but...has anyone operated avid express dv on any dell dimension series?  and if you have, does it work well?  Avid recommends the dell precision, but if anyone has any knowledge on the dimension I'd appreciate it.  thanks.
Title: dell & avid express dv?
Post by: mutinyco on April 16, 2004, 04:36:01 PM
I haven't used Avid on a Dell. I would assume they suggest one model over another because of cards or something. One might be better designed to handle media. You might have to get some plug-ins.

Regardless, Avid is a great system.
Title: dell & avid express dv?
Post by: jasper_window on April 19, 2004, 04:28:27 PM
Quote from: mutinyco

Regardless, Avid is a great system.


Agreed on that.  I don't have alot of cash which is why I'm trying to cut corners, but it might not be the best thing to do.
Title: dell & avid express dv?
Post by: mutinyco on April 19, 2004, 11:58:21 PM
I still say for consumers it's better to go with Apple. They're in a fenzy updating all their products. Preparing for G5 laptops.
Title: dell & avid express dv?
Post by: jasper_window on April 20, 2004, 08:31:22 AM
I've thought about it.  I've never worked on an apple, so it would be an adjustment, but I've been considering it.  Do you edit on an apple w/ final cut?
Title: dell & avid express dv?
Post by: mutinyco on April 20, 2004, 01:54:17 PM
Yes, I do. Apple's website is worth checking out right now cause they slashed prices and they've done lots of upgrades.
Title: dell & avid express dv?
Post by: SoNowThen on April 20, 2004, 02:07:45 PM
FYI, I've cut with Avid Media Composer on both PC and Mac computers, and can honestly say both have an equal amount of pros and cons. These were on high end systems in post studios though, so it may make a difference for cheaper personal use, I dunno.