Apple laptops for editing?

Started by mindfuck, July 10, 2003, 07:36:16 PM

mindfuck

Anyone use a laptop for editing (FCP, etc)? I'm seriously considering purchasing one of the G4 Powerbooks soon (now that the G5 is out I'm expecting the G4s to drop in price), but I want to know how well it performs with some of this heavy processor stuff.

Cecil

you should be fine. they almost have the same specs as my powermac (well, the low-end anyway). youll probably need an ext firewire hard drive if you need more hd space, and more ram. 512 is the minimum to rock.

aclockworkjj

mutinyco

I've been using a PowerBook G4 for 2 years. Very happy.
"I believe in this, and it's been tested by research: he who fucks nuns will later join the church."

-St. Joe

TheVoiceOfNick

Quote from: aclockworkjjand only 1" thick.....

I'm sure there is a joke somewhere in this line...  :lol:

Nick

aclockworkjj

Quote from: TheVoiceOfNick
Quote from: aclockworkjjand only 1" thick.....

I'm sure there is a joke somewhere in this line...  :lol:

Nick

I just remember going to Fry's and they were using the fact that the Powerbook is only an inch thick as a major bullet piont in pushing the sale....I found it amuzing....screw the capacity, speed, and stabiliy, it's only an inch thick...shit, I need one.

TheVoiceOfNick

I think that with Apple, it's a no-brainer that the performance is going to be there... they are so secure in themselves, that they don't even have to advertise the technical qualities of the laptop... they can focus on what differenciates themselves from the PCs... the style.

Nick

SoNowThen