My Local Film Festival is not big enuff to have its own thread

Started by Weird. Oh, April 01, 2004, 01:25:57 AM

Weird. Oh

I just wanted to know if anyone knew anything about any of these films http://www.phillyfests.com/pff/templates/by_date.cfm playing. I'm new to film festivals and just really got into cinema less than a year ago. I really like most of what people suggest on this board. I looked through and saw a few that sounded interesting but I dont' want to waste 9 bucks on a some crap. The one i'm definitely seeing is Super Size Me. Any suggestions would be great...
The more arguments you win, the fewer friends you will have.

modage

the Toronto Film Festival line-up makes me want to commit suicide...

Brokeback Mountain (Ang Lee)
Bubble (Steven Soderbergh)
No Direction Home: Bob Dylan (Martin Scorsese)
Tideland (Terry Gilliam)
Hostel (Eli Roth)
Dave Chapelle's Block Party (Michel Gondry)
Oliver Twist (Roman Polanski)
Romance & Cigarettes (John Tuturro)
Corpse Bride (Tim Burton)
Elizabethtown (Cameron Crowe)
Kiss Kiss Bang Bang (Shane Black)
A History Of Violence (David Cronenberg)
Revolver (Guy Ritchie)
Wallace & Gromit: Curse Of The Were-Rabbit (Nick Park, Steve Box)
Walk The Line (James Mangold)
Where The Truth Lies (Atom Egoyan)
The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada (Tommy Lee Jones)
Proof (John Madden)
North Country (Niki Caro)
In Her Shoes (Curtis Hanson)
Sympathy For Lady Vengeance (Chan-Wook Park)
The Squid & The Whale (Noah Baumbach)
Shopgirl (Anand Tucker)
The Notorious Bettie Page (Mary Harron)
Capote (Bennett Miller)
The Great Yokai War (Takashi Miike)
Manderlay (Lars Von Trier)

and more...
Christopher Nolan's directive was clear to everyone in the cast and crew: Use CGI only as a last resort.

Gold Trumpet

I have access only to the weakest mainstream can offer, so I think you need to appreciate the set up you have right now.